

AUSTRALASIAN
ENVIRONMENTAL LAW ENFORCEMENT
AND REGULATORS NETWORK

AELERT STEERING COMMITTEE

Meeting Communique

Brisbane | October 2015

The 34th meeting of the AELERT Steering Committee was held in Brisbane, Queensland on Tuesday 27 October 2015.

New Committee Member

The Steering Committee formally welcomed Wes Ford as the new jurisdictional representative for Tasmania. Wes is the Director of the Environment Protection Authority and the General Manager of the EPA division within Tasmania's Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment. His full profile is available on the AELERT Website.

The committee also thanked Darryl Cook for his dedication as the previous Tasmanian jurisdictional representative, and was pleased to note his continued involvement with AELERT through the Better Regulation Cluster.

Charter and Work Plan

The Steering Committee reviewed final drafts of the updated AELERT Charter and work plan, as part of the network's recent governance review. The Charter, which outlines the network's aims, governance structure and role of the clusters and secretariat, was endorsed. It can be accessed on the AELERT website.

The AELERT Work Plan was also endorsed, identifying the Network's priorities for 2015-2017. These priorities are:

- 1. Capacity building
- 2. Better regulation capacity
- 3. Risk communication and community engagement
- 4. Operational intelligence and information sharing
- 5. Officer exchange program.

The committee noted that many projects listed in the work plan had already been actioned, or were currently underway. Members can download the work plan from the <u>AELERT website</u>.

2015 Conference Update

The Steering Committee was pleased to note that the 2015 Conference had attracted strong attendance and sponsorship. They gave particular thanks to the staff involved in organising the conference, naming the following individuals:

- Omar Ameer, QLD EHP
- Debbie Bletsas, AELERT Secretariat
- Natasha Gajda, QLD EHP

- Rebecca Ellero, QLD EHP
- Letitia Ellis, QLD EHP
- Karen Bennett, AELERT Secretariat
- Kiran Groom, AELERT Secretariat.

The committee confirmed that two conference sessions were to be live-streamed to members online, and that a selection of plenary sessions would be made available for members to watch post-conference. Links to these resources can now be found in the member-only section of the <u>AELERT Website</u>.

2016 Events

2016 Face-to-face Events

The Steering Committee discussed AELERT's existing events program, with particular reference to the biennial forum. They acknowledged the original aim of the AELERT Forum; to maintain connectivity with AELERT members between conference years. The forums, which began in 2012, target management level staff and generally attract between 60-80 individuals.

The committee agreed that the forum no longer represents the best value for money for members, particularly considering contemporary online engagement methods and tightening departmental travel budgets. However the committee highlighted that face-to-face interaction was still an important aspect of AELERT's function to facilitate information sharing, networking and capacity building.

The committee therefore resolved that the 2016 AELERT Forum would be replaced with a number of smaller, topic driven member events, cluster workshops and webinars.

Cluster chairs, and AELERT members in general, are encouraged to consider their own cross-jurisdictional event that would benefit from support, and to contact the AELERT Secretariat: secretariat@aelert.net.

2016 Webinar Schedule

The Steering Committee confirmed the value of webinars as a member engagement tool.

The committee determined that a further three webinars will be held in 2016, with the first focusing on crisis communications. They noted that crisis communications was a common challenge across the AELERT membership, requiring further information sharing and collaboration.

Members who have ideas for future webinar topics can email the Secretariat: secretariat@aelert.net.

Cluster Update

Emergency Operations Cluster

The committee was pleased to officially grant AELERT cluster status to the Emergency Operations Network. As such, the group was renamed the Emergency Operations Cluster.

The group, which previously sat under the Operations Cluster, was granted cluster status in recognition that it:

- Has a significantly different work focus than any existing cluster (emergency management)
- Needs flexibility to maintain external linkages to emergency services agencies and associations
- Is progressing with a comprehensive work plan, including discrete projects and deliverables, requiring direct interaction with the Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee further congratulated cluster members on their enthusiasm and dedication, and their strong collaborative effort thus far.

Communications Cluster

The Steering Committee expressed support for the establishment of a communications cluster or working group. They reiterated the importance of effective communications and engagement to all member agencies, and the common challenges that would benefit from further collaboration.

The committee decided that an initial meeting will be facilitated by the South Australian Environment Protection Authority, allowing interested parties to scope potential projects and outcomes for the group. The establishment of a formal cluster will then be re-tabled for discussion by the Steering Committee in 2016.

Next meeting

The next Steering Committee meeting is scheduled for March 2016. Submissions for discussion can be forwarded to the AELERT Secretariat up until 5 February 2016 at Secretariat@aelert.net.

About the AELERT Steering Committee

The AELERT Steering Committee comprises representatives from governments in all AELERT jurisdictions: Australia Commonwealth, each State/Territory and New Zealand. Four office holders also sit on the Committee: Chair, Vice-chair and two Directors.

AELERT role	Member
Chair	Tony Circelli
	Environment Protection Authority SA
Vice-chair and	Mark Gifford
New South Wales Jurisdictional	Environment Protection Authority NSW
Representative	
Director	Chris Webb
	Environment Protection Authority Victoria
Director and Commonwealth	Shane Gaddes
Jurisdictional Representative	Department of the Environment
Queensland Jurisdictional	Glen Brown
Representative	Department of Environment and Heritage
	Protection
Australian Capital Territory	Daniel Walters
Jurisdictional Representative	ACT Environment Protection Authority
Tasmania Jurisdictional	Wes Ford
Representative	Department of Primary Industries, Parks,
	Water and Environment
South Australia Jurisdictional	Andrew Wood
Representative	Environment Protection Authority SA
Western Australia Jurisdictional	Germaine Healy
Representative	Department of Environment Regulation
Northern Territory Jurisdictional	Peter Vasel
Representative	Environment Protection Authority NT
Victoria Jurisdictional Representative	Richard Marks
	Environment Protection Authority Victoria
New Zealand Jurisdictional	Andrea Eng
Representative	Environment Protection Authority NZ

The Steering Committee meets formally three times a year to discuss the strategic direction of AELERT, cluster projects, AELERT member needs and issues facing the environmental regulatory community.